MORRISSEY: 10 OVERLOOKED SONGS

MOZ2

Oh god, not another Morrissey post…

Inspired by this Guardian Music list, and to coincide with Morrissey’s excellent new album, I thought I’d pick ten of his most overlooked tracks to share. Those looking for an Everyday Is Like Sunday or an Irish Blood, English Heart… turn back now.

In no particular order of preference…

1. I’ve Changed My Plea to Guilty (a b-side to the single My Love Life, 1991) // The recorded version is gorgeous, but this live version from The Jonathan Ross Show is one of my favourite Morrissey TV appearances.

***

 

2. My Love Life (single, released 1991) // On that note… an all-too-often overlooked Moz song, and a strong contender for both favourite video and solo song. Look at that quiff… swoon.

***

 

3. I Know It’s Gonna Happen Someday (from Your Arsenal, 1992) // Covered by David Bowie (terribly, in my opinion), this is a beautiful, slow-building epic. I’ll never get tired of listening to this song; that long lead-in, then the drums come crashing in… double swoon.

***

 

4. Late Night, Maudlin Street (from Viva Hate, 1988) // The Guardian article linked above rightly ranked this as one of Morrissey’s best songs. There is so much story told in-between the lines of this song – that’s what makes him such a great lyricist.

***

 

5. Life is a Pigsty (from Ringleader of the Tormentors, 2006) // For my money, probably his best song of the last few years. Another long, thunderous, multi-faceted epic.

***

 

6. Sing Your Life (a single from Kill Uncle, 1991) // Brilliant little pop song with a jerky rockabilly swing.

***

 

7. Hold On To Your Friends (a single from from Vauxhall & I, 1994) // “Give up your job, squander your cash, be rash / Just hold on to your friends” – advice to live by.

***

 

8. Trouble Loves Me (from Maladjusted, 1997) // Taken from the unfairly maligned Maladjusted, but this is such a brilliant song, co-written by his former guitarist and superb songwriter in his own right, Alain Whyte.

***

 

9. Oboe Concerto (from World Peace is None of Your Business, 2014) // At the moment, one of my favourite songs from the new album. Reminds me of the Smiths’ Death of a Disco Dancer, in many ways.

***

 

10. Tomorrow (from Your Arsenal, 1992) // Your Arsenal is my favourite Morrissey album and this is one of my favourite songs from it. “You don’t think I’ll make it? I never said I wanted to… well, did I?”

***

OK, one bonus track:

Boxers (single, released in 1995) // I remember the first time I heard this song, I thought it was so classically Morrisseyan. It’s not his best song by any means, but it’s really great and overlooked a lot.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Marc Fairclough on July 17, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Missing ‘I’d Love To’ – virtually unknown, but epic and beautiful…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

