CURRENTLY…

I’m a bad blogger, please forgive me.

LISTENING TO:

The 1922s – ‘The Very Lotust’

Before I begin, I need to declare my interest: the singer of this band is a friend of mine. I always try to avoid mentioning albums made by anyone I know personally, because there’s always someone who’ll dismiss my opinion on the basis of partiality. But having thought about it for a few days,  I think it would be a genuine shame not to share it, considering how much I’ve enjoyed it. ‘The Very Lotust‘ is bloody brilliant. OK, so it’s probably 3 or 4 tracks too long, but its mix of classic pop, showtunes, indie and loungey balladry – mixed with some of the most intelligently obscure lyrics I’ve heard in a while – is manna for a piano-loving indie fan like me. The songs are beautifully and carefully constructed, the production is top-notch. They sound unlike any Irish band I can remember in recent times. It’s been my go-to album for the last while, but seems to have slipped under the radar somewhat. Recommended, anyway. I think you can get it in Tower Records at the moment.

WATCHING:

I haven’t been watching that much TV lately, except the new series of The Walking Dead (which I’m hoping gets better, and quickly). I have been going to the cinema quite a bit, though. The last few films I’ve seen have been:

In Time: Great concept, but disappointing. Not even Mr. JT could save it.

Paranormal Activity 3: Considering what a long-lasting effect the first one had on me, it took some serious psyching-up for me to watch the second one on DVD, and then the third one in the cinema – but I really enjoyed it. Instead of making a pointless story with lots of extravagant jumps, the story has been cleverly stretched out and developed over three films into something worthwhile.

The Adventures of Tin-Tin: Had some really enjoyable moments, but I thought it’d be better overall.

We Need to Talk About Kevin: Excellent. Very chilling, some brilliant performances, but reckon John C. Reilly was horribly miscast.

Midnight in Paris: Charming and sweet and funny in parts, but certainly not one of Allen’s best.

Drive: Probably the best film I’ve seen this year.

Trespass: Probably the worst film I’ve seen this year/ever.

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy: Looked absolutely gorgeous, but woooooooosh! That was the sound of the convoluted plot going over my head.

READING:

Just started reading this, and enjoying it so far. After just finishing the seriously dense ‘At the Mountains of Madness‘, my brain needs something light.

LOOKING FORWARD TO:

Gillian Welch at the Grand Canal Theatre, November 17th. Yee-ha! Is that the waft of ‘Potential Gig of the Year’ I smell?

and…

Going to Berlin for the weekend, primarily to see Wilco but also for a break. I’ve been once before, but that was eight years ago and I was on a backpacker’s budget (not much better this time ’round, to be honest). Any recommendations of places to see/things to do/places to eat and drink? We’re staying in Mitte.

Leave a Reply

