MINCE PIE-D AND GOGGLE-EYED

So it’s nose to the grindstone for most people today (for me, yesterday – nothing like waking up to an email wondering where a feature that you should have filed a week ago is), but most of my Christmas – the part that wasn’t spent eating too much and drinking too much – was spent in a lovely lazy bubble of film- and TV series-watching. In general, most of my spare time is eaten up by music, so it was good to get some quality screen time in.

Over the course of the past couple of weeks, I’ve ploughed through the following:

Eastbound & Down: Season 1 (quite good)
Rare Exports: A Christmas Tale (OK)
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (good, but makes me annoyed that the second of the His Dark Materials trilogy hasn’t, and probably won’t be made)
The Social Network (good, but not as good as everyone says. Who was it that compared it to Citizen Kane? Was it Roger Ebert? Pah!)
Winter’s Bone (bleak, but very good. Great acting from Jennifer Lawrence and John Hawkes. He is a brilliant actor altogether. Check him out in the superb Deadwood, if you haven’t already)
The Walking Dead: Season 1 (very good. This was my Stephen’s Day viewing. Not very festive, but I do <3 zombies.)
Tron (I can see why people were amazed by this in 1982, the visuals must have been out of this world for its time – but it’s a total geekfest and a bit of a drab storyline)
Tron: Legacy (Enjoyable enough, but again, a weak script, and Garrett Hedlund was a bit of a bland leading man. It looked great, although didn’t particularly benefit from 3D glasses, I thought…)
Dead Man’s Shoes (I’ve had this lying around for months, but only just got around to it. Superb. The best film I’ve seen in months, and Paddy Considine has become my new favourite actor)
A Room for Romeo Brass (Really good, and confirmed Paddy’s new #1 slot in my affections)
Man of Aran (Dreary as fook. I haven’t heard British Sea Power’s soundtrack of this 1934 documentary, but it can only make it more interesting)
The King of Kong (Absolutely brilliant documentary about the seedy/geeky world of obsessive arcade gamers. Sad, and funny, and highly recommended)
Doubt (Very good. Meryl Streep can’t really put a foot wrong in my book)
The Last Exorcism (Quite creepy, but not terrifying. Took some strange turns that didn’t really sit with the storyline)
Whistle and I’ll Come to You (BBC adaptation of MR James’s short story. John Hurt is predictably brilliant, I was genuinely creeped out watching it alone at night – but the ambiguous ending confused and annoyed me, more than it intrigued me).
Catfish (Didn’t know what to expect from this at all, but really enjoyed it)
An Idiot Abroad: Season 1 (Very good. Not always laugh-out-loud funny, but consistently chuckle-sustaining)

Without doubt, the most films/TV series I’ve watched in a short space of time – ever! Anyone have any recommendations, or see anything of worth over the Christmas season? I’m looking forward to True Grit and Black Swan in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

